NAHRO Names Senator Tina Smith and Senator Rob Portman Legislators of the Year

Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN) and Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)

CORRECTION: The Public Housing Fire Safety Act has not yet passed. We apologize for any inconvenience.

NAHRO is pleased to announce this year’s Legislator of the Year Award honorees to Senator Tina Smith (D-MN) and Senator Rob Portman (R-OH).

Sen. Smith strongly advocated for more funding to improve public housing infrastructure. In February 2021, she re-introduced her Public Housing Fire Safety Act, which would result in a $25,00,000 grant program for the installation of automatic sprinkler systems in public housing. Read more here.

Sen. Rob Portman has shown his commitment to addressing the affordable housing crisis by signing on to several bipartisan housing bills as an original co-sponsor. Read more here.

Sen. Smith and Sen. Portman will accept their awards during NAHRO’s Online Washington Conference March 28-30. Not registered? Registration remains open until 11 a.m. ET today, March 28! NAHRO‚Äôs Legislator of the Year Award honors members of Congress who are strong advocates for housing and community development programs and for the NAHRO members who administer them. To see past winners of the award click here.

Register for Conference